rural scenery
Increase Text Size   Decrease Text Size

Douglas County News

County Board Meeting October 20

Posted: Tuesday, October 20, 2020

Auditor Treasurer/Finance Director Douglas County Auditor/Treasurer/Finance Director Char Rosenow is retiring. She submitted her letter of resignation/retirement to the board ...

Douglas County Public Works Receives Governor's Safety Award

Posted: Monday, October 12, 2020

The Minnesota Safety Council will recognize Douglas County Public Works for excellence in workplace safety and health during its annual conference October 19-20, 2020. “It is ...

Farm Equipment Fire

Posted: Monday, October 12, 2020

Structure Fire

Posted: Monday, October 12, 2020

County Board Meeting October 6

Posted: Tuesday, October 6, 2020

Douglas County Commissioners approved another round of financial assistance for businesses and nonprofits that suffered due to COVID. The county received funds through the CAR...

Traffic Stop

Posted: Tuesday, October 6, 2020

Structure Fire

Posted: Thursday, October 1, 2020

Structure Fire

Posted: Thursday, October 1, 2020

Fatal Traffic Accident

Posted: Thursday, October 1, 2020

Structure Fire

Posted: Tuesday, September 22, 2020

County Assessor Keith Albertsen Reappointed

Posted: Friday, September 18, 2020

Saying he has done a very good job, the Douglas County Board of Commissioners voted to re-appoint Assessor Keith Albertsen to another four year term. This is the eighth time t...

County Board Meeting September 15

Posted: Tuesday, September 15, 2020

The Douglas County Board of Commissioners approved the first round of grant requests for businesses and nonprofits impacted by COVID-19. The county received $4.6 million in fe...

County Board Meeting September 1

Posted: Wednesday, September 2, 2020

Douglas County Board of Commissioners continued to financially support local nonprofits and partners at its September 1 board meeting. It also moved forward on an offer to pur...

Input on La Grand Township Roundabout Presented to County Board

Posted: Wednesday, September 2, 2020

  County Engineer and Public Works Director Tim Erickson shared input from the Roundabout Open House held August 20. Most of the people who offered opinions said it’s abo...

Fire-All Other

Posted: Monday, August 31, 2020

Fire

Posted: Tuesday, August 25, 2020

Structure Fire

Posted: Tuesday, August 25, 2020

County Board Meeting August 18

Posted: Thursday, August 20, 2020

Douglas County Commissioners continue their work to set the budget for 2021. On Tuesday, August 18, commissioners considered budget requests from various agencies, set salarie...

Aircraft Accident

Posted: Monday, August 17, 2020

Open House Held Regarding 822 Douglas Street Property

Posted: Friday, August 14, 2020

Douglas County Commissioners want to ensure members of the public have an opportunity to share their concerns and support of high-profile projects. On Thursday, August 13, the...

Motor Vehicle Crash - Fatality

Posted: Monday, August 10, 2020

County Board Meeting August 4

Posted: Wednesday, August 5, 2020

A public open house is now scheduled to review plans for the 822 Douglas Street building purchased by Douglas County. That open house will be held Thursday, August 13 at 822 D...

Douglas County Roundabout Open House Meeting

Posted: Monday, July 27, 2020

Douglas County residents will have an opportunity to learn why a third roundabout is planned to enhance safety — this one at an intersection in LaGrand Township. The Douglas C...

Proposed Flowering Rush (AIS) Treatment in Grants Lake

Posted: Friday, July 24, 2020

Notice is hereby given that Douglas County has contracted an aquatic invasive species control project involving herbicide treatments of flowering rush infestations in Grants L...

Suspicious Activity

Posted: Friday, July 24, 2020

Motorcycle Crash

Posted: Wednesday, July 22, 2020

Alarm

Posted: Monday, July 20, 2020

County Board Meeting July 14

Posted: Wednesday, July 15, 2020

The Douglas County Board of Commissioners met July 14 to approve resolutions and requests from department heads. Library  Douglas County Library Director Dawn Dailey aske...

Motor Vechile.Bicycle Crash - Fatality

Posted: Wednesday, July 15, 2020

Structure Fire

Posted: Monday, July 13, 2020

Motorcycle Accident

Posted: Wednesday, July 8, 2020

Missing Person - Juvenile

Posted: Tuesday, July 7, 2020

Water Rescue

Posted: Tuesday, July 7, 2020

Attempt to Locate Missing Adult Male

Posted: Tuesday, July 7, 2020

ATV Crash/Rollover

Posted: Friday, June 26, 2020

Proposed Flowering Rush (AIS) Treatment in Grants Lake

Posted: Tuesday, June 23, 2020

Notice is hereby given that Douglas County has contracted an aquatic invasive species control project involving herbicide treatments of flowering rush infestations in Grants L...

Personal Injury Accident

Posted: Monday, June 22, 2020

County Board Meeting June 15

Posted: Monday, June 15, 2020

Douglas County Commissioners accepted a number of grants at its June 15 meeting. Social Services Community Human Services Director Laurie Bonds asked commissioners to accept $...

Veteran and Recorder's Offices Expand Services, License Bureau Adds Hours

Posted: Tuesday, June 9, 2020

More services are now available to Douglas County residents and visitors as we keep public health a top priority. Douglas County License Bureau The Douglas County License Bure...

Water Related Incident

Posted: Monday, June 8, 2020

Personal Injury Crash

Posted: Monday, June 8, 2020

County Board Meeting June 2

Posted: Wednesday, June 3, 2020

The Douglas County License Bureau will be extending its hours to provide even better service to residents. License Bureau Director Susan Crotteau asked the board of Douglas Co...

Bicycle Accident

Posted: Tuesday, June 2, 2020

Water Rescue

Posted: Tuesday, June 2, 2020

Douglas County Reopens Exterior Doors to Public with Service Limitations

Posted: Friday, May 29, 2020

Call ahead. As Douglas County reopens its exterior doors to the public June 1, department leaders advise residents and visitors to continue to call in advance to learn the mos...

Douglas County Assessor Implementing Precautions During In-Person Visits

Posted: Thursday, May 28, 2020

The Douglas County Assessor will proceed with statutorily required reviews of real estate parcels during the COVID-19 pandemic, but safety precautions will be in place. State ...

New Opportunity for Services by Appointment

Posted: Tuesday, May 26, 2020

Douglas County is now using a web-based system for residents wanting to make appointments with individual departments. The Douglas County License Bureau is one of the departme...

County Board Meeting May 19

Posted: Wednesday, May 20, 2020

Douglas County property taxpayers directly or indirectly affected by COVID-19 have until October 15, 2020 to pay their first half property taxes without penalty. Commissioners...

First Ever Mail Balloting in Douglas County

Posted: Friday, May 15, 2020

For the first time, some residents of Douglas County will be voting by mail. In 1987, the Minnesota Legislature provided townships and cities outside a seven-county metro area...

County Board Meeting May 5

Posted: Monday, May 11, 2020

The owners of the Alexandria businesses destroyed by fire in February will have until November 15 to pay their property taxes without penalty and music on the courthouse lawn ...

Water Related Search/Recovery

Posted: Thursday, May 7, 2020

First Half Property Taxes Can Not be Paid in Person

Posted: Tuesday, May 5, 2020

Douglas County property owners will not be able to pay their property taxes in person. Taxes are due May 15, but the Douglas County Courthouse is currently not open to the pub...

License Bureau and Library Expand Services

Posted: Monday, May 4, 2020

The Douglas County License Bureau and Library are now offering expanded services. Residents may now use curbside service for vehicle, boat and ATV tab renewals and transfers a...

Structure Fire

Posted: Tuesday, April 28, 2020

County Board Meeting April 21

Posted: Wednesday, April 22, 2020

The Douglas County Board met in person and virtually on Tuesday, April 21. Commissioners took a number of actions, bid farewell to a long-time department head and welcomed his...

Assist Agency/Pursuit

Posted: Thursday, April 16, 2020

Severe Weather Awareness Week in Minnesota

Posted: Tuesday, April 14, 2020

Severe Weather Awareness Week is April 13-17. The statewide tornado drills are scheduled to take place on Thursday, April 16 at 1:45 and 6:45 p.m. Douglas County will sound th...

Fire

Posted: Tuesday, April 14, 2020

County Continues to Improve Service Options During COVID-19 Pandemic

Posted: Friday, April 10, 2020

To meet the increasing demand for drop box services, the county has installed a larger drop box at the south entrance of the courthouse at 305 8th Avenue West in Alexandria. P...

Fire

Posted: Tuesday, March 31, 2020