Printer Friendly Version  Email A Friend  Add This  Increase Text Size  Decrease Text Size

First Ever Mail Balloting in Douglas County

Posted: 05/15/2020

Author: Julie Anderson

Category: Departments

< Back

For the first time, some residents of Douglas County will be voting by mail. In 1987, the Minnesota Legislature provided townships and cities outside a seven-county metro area, the ability to adopt mail balloting. In 2020, the listed municipalities decided mail balloting will be allowed.

  • City of Millerville
  • Alexandria Township
  • Belle River Township
  • Brandon Township
  • Hudson Township
  • Ida Township
  • LaGrand Township
  • Lund Township
  • Moe Township
  • Spruce Hill Township

“This history-making event will provide an additional option to residents as we continue to navigate the unchartered waters of the COVID-19 pandemic,” said Vicki Doehling, Douglas County Elections Administrator. “The Auditor’s Office is prepared to carry out its statutory role in mail balloting.”

Anyone registered to vote in these precincts will receive a ballot in the mail approximately 30 days before the election.  The date of the primary election is August 11, 2020.  The date of the general election is November 3, 2020.  Residents are strongly encouraged to verify their voter registration status online at www.mnvotes.org by selecting REGISTER TO VOTE [Check my registration]. 

Non-registered voters in these mail ballot precincts can also register online up to 21 days prior to the election at www.mnvotes.org by selecting REGISTER TO VOTE [Register online] and a ballot will be mailed to them approximately 14 days before the election. 

  • July 21, 2020 is the deadline to register to vote prior to the August 11 Primary Election.
  • October 13, 2020 is the deadline to register to vote prior to the November 3 General Election

Voters who receive their ballot in the mail, and choose to vote in the election, should vote using the ballot that is mailed to them. 

A witness will be required to verify:

  • the voter is who they say they are
  • the voter resides at the listed address
  • the ballot was blank when the voter received it
  • the voter marked the ballot in private, and sealed it in the ballot secrecy envelope

The witness can be any registered voter in Minnesota or a notary public.  Voted ballots must be returned by mail or in person to the Douglas County Auditor’s Office on or before election day.  A postage-paid return envelope will be provided with each mailed ballot.  The Douglas County Auditor-Treasurer’s office is located in the courthouse at 305 8th Ave W, Alexandria, MN 56308.

Anyone  not registered by election day will still have the opportunity to vote in person at a designated mail ballot polling place, or can choose to vote early by applying for an absentee ballot online at www.mnvotes.org and selecting OTHER WAYS TO VOTE [Vote early by mail] or [Vote early in person].

A more thorough ‘Notice of Mail Ballot Procedures’ will be officially posted by the Douglas County Auditor-Treasurer and by each mail ballot municipality on or before June 2, 2020.  A copy of that notice will also be mailed to each registered voter on record as of June 1, 2020.






Be the first to leave a comment.

Leave your comment:
*Please note: Your comments need to be approved and will not display immediately after your submission.
CAPTCHA Validation